think out of the (vox)box: #bigshotmascara

There are fewer things better in life than new makeup to play with. Free makeup just sweetens the deal.

Recently, I was selected to partake in Influenster‘s newest VoxBox campaign for Maybelline’s The Colossal Big Shot Mascara.

If you’re not familiar with Influenster, it’s an online community that subscribers are chosen based on their social media presence to review and test out products, completely free. You’re not reading that wrong: all products are sent out complimentary in exchange for honest opinions.

A friend of mine had received their first VoxBox and I was immediately interested, thinking it was similar to other beauty box subscriptions. I was wrong and to be entirely fair, I actually forgotten about the account until I received an email from them, saying I had been selected to complete a survey. Completing the survey would increase my chances of receiving this “VoxBox”.  After completing it, a few days later I got an email saying that I had been selected and that it was on its way.

A peek inside

When you receive your VoxBox, head over to the Influenster website to check it in. Once checked in, you will have opportunities to unlock badges by completing activities to promote and test out the product. (In fact, blogging about the product is one of those activities!)

The confirmation email I received about the campaign also noted that there would be a bonus product inside. I was excited to see that it was a liquid eyeliner, because I truly believe thick, voluminous lashes are best complimented with a dramatic wing!

If we’re talking about drugstore cosmetics, Maybelline has always been a staple in my collection, especially their mascaras. I believe every makeup wearer started out with the infamous Great Lash with their iconic green handle and pink bottle! But, for me, the Falsies, the Mega Plush Volume and even the Colossal mascaras were always in rotation as my go-to mascaras and I always recommend them whenever someone asks for a great mascara that won’t break the bank.

Doing a little research before diving into the product, I found out that the #BigShotMascara will retail for roughly $8.49 for 0.32 fluid ounces, which is comparable to their other mascaras.

bigshotbottle         bigshotwandbottle

I received the #BigShotMascara in the waterproof formula and in the color Very Black, both of which aren’t my cup of tea. Waterproof formulas aren’t my favorite because I find they require so much more rubbing of the eye in removing them and the blacker the color, the better for me. But the gold packaging is to die for.

The wand is really interesting to me because usually with volumizing mascaras, there’s a curve to the head of the wand, but with this one it’s the actually the base of the wand that’s bubbled. The brush end itself is relatively a straight line, with the same size bristles on the brush end. It does taper off towards the end, which makes it easy to reach the little hairs near the corners of your eye shape.

bigshotnatural

Natural lashes, eyes lined with the Maybelline Master Precise Curvy liquid eyeliner in Black

Below are the photos I took after using the #BigShotMascara:

bigshot1

One coat of Maybelline The Colossal Big Shot mascara

bigshotleft

Comparison between Maybelline The Colossal Big Shot Mascara, left, to my natural lashes

bigshotlength

Length of Maybelline The Colossal Big Shot mascara (one coat) and Maybelline Master Precise Curvy liquid eyeliner in Black

For what it’s worth, this is a great drugstore mascara. It really does lift and volumize each lashes, thanks to its tapered end. The bristles hug each lash and really coats them with the product, building up pigment. However, the more coats you apply (I usually do between one to two, depending on the look I’m going for), I noticed the more spider-leg like my lashes got, making them thicker and heavy.

However, I absolutely want to talk about the Master Precise Curvy liquid eyeliner.

masterprecisebottle        masterprecisetip

For the longest time, I swore by Maybelline’s Eye Studio gel liner. Then, I discovered Kat Von D’s Tattoo Liner and it’s been my go-to since. But let’s not ignore this bad boy.

First off, I was really thrown off by the shape of it, thinking ‘How the heck am I going to get a precise line with this?!’. But the shape of it does fit perfectly into my hand and the felt tip isn’t that scary to use when flicking out a wing. (I struggle immensely with doing wings, but this really made it easy!) Definitely perfect for make-up rookies!

masterpreciseswatch

Swatch of Maybelline Master Precise Curvy liquid eyeliner in Black

If you’re wondering on how you can receive complimentary samples for testing purposes like this, head over to Influenster and sign up! Remember, it’s absolutely free and all is asked of you is to provide honest feedback!

About sarah

24. writer. obsessed with makeup, french bulldogs and sparkle.
This entry was posted in makeup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to think out of the (vox)box: #bigshotmascara

  1. Oh wow your lashes are amazing! Love your review, will definitely check out this mascara 🙂

  2. Pingback: think out of the (vox)box: #rosyvoxbox | life with sarah

Leave a Reply

