birchbox unboxing: january ’17

New year, new me. Am I right?

Just as last month brought out a reoccurring theme of NYE glam, most of my beauty subscriptions featured products that will help you step forward into the new year to make it your best yet!

img_1259

Birchbox is no different and their partnership with Self Magazine has me wanting to reshape my beauty resolutions, big time! The box it comes in is super inspiring and makes me want to get this new year underway!

Number 4 Fluoro5 Elixer Restore & Repair oil

img_1269

Hair oils are so hit and miss for my hair. Sometimes, my hair soaks them all in and thrive off of them, then there are times that my hair gets so backed up with product that it feels like it’ll never get clean. I’ve used products from Number 4 before, including their hair dryer spray, and I’m still not entirely sold on them. As for the oil, I’ve used it once and didn’t notice immediate results, however I have my oils/serums that I prefer.

Rating: 2 out of 5

Parlor by Jeff Chastain Moisturizing & Repairing shampoo and conditioner

img_1266

I’m always skeptical of receiving shampoo and conditioner in subscriptions, only because it’s hard to tell if a product works well when it’s two different sample sizes. I have long, color-treated hair and I was leery of this product because it’s suppose to thoroughly cleanse the hair, making note that it removes product build-up. The packaging does say it’s safe for color-treated hair, but in small print on the back.

I’ve swapped this into my current hair routine, which is washing my hair every third day. I prefer a big lather with my shampoos and didn’t necessarily get that when I used the shampoo. However the conditioner does work well and a little goes a long way, which makes sense as to why the conditioner is in a small pouch. My hair felt drastically softer while the product absorbed into my hair in the shower.

Fragrances are a big thing when it comes to hair products and this combo isn’t really all that memorable. It’s not overbearing but it’s not breathtaking either.

Rating: 3 out of 5

NUXE Moisturizer Cream Creme Fraiche de Beaute

img_1268

I have combo skin that tends to dry out in the winter, so I’m always on the search for reliable, heavy duty moisturizers. The NUXE moisturizer is perfect because it’s lightweight enough that it doesn’t leave my skin feeling too weighed down, but penetrates deep enough that it’ll give my skin the moisture it needs, especially during the cold, dry winter months.

It also helps that this product smells amazing and has a light, clean fragrance. It smells like something familiar but I just can’t put my finger on what it is! It has a minty, citrusy smell so it almost feels cooling to the touch.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

ARROW ENDURE Water-Resistant mascara

img_1265

Water-resistant mascaras aren’t my favorite thing ever, but this one by ARROW isn’t awful. It’s meant to be a sweat/water-resistant mascara that is perfect for the gym. To be completely honest, I’m really forgetful when it comes to taking my makeup off before a workout and it usually ends up smeared and all over my face when I’m done. However, with this ARROW mascara, my lashes stay in place all day.

It’s not super lengthening or volumous, but it’s enough to give my eyes some definition.  And in terms of its wash-off factor, it’s easily removable with Clinique’s Take the Day Off cleansing balm.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Juliette Has a Gun MMMM perfume

img_1270

I’ve noticed that Birchbox has been slipping perfume samples into my boxes and I’m definitely not mad about it! As I’ve mentioned in another unboxing, I don’t normally opt for perfumes because I’m always skeptical of spending the money and not being in love with the scent. But MMMM by Juliette Has a Gun was a nice surprise.

This perfume is along the lines of scents that I normally opt for, like vanilla and raspberry. It’s a nice combo with the orange blossom. The only thing I dislike about it is the price tag, which is about $100.

Rating: 4 out of 5

If you’re interested in signing up, use my referral link here!

About sarah

24. writer. obsessed with makeup, french bulldogs and sparkle.
This entry was posted in beauty subscriptions, makeup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to birchbox unboxing: january ’17

  1. Pingback: sephora play unboxing: january ’17 | life with sarah

  2. Pingback: birchbox unboxing; february ’17 | life with sarah

  3. Pingback: birchbox unboxing: march ’17 | life with sarah

  4. Pingback: must-have summer faves | life with sarah

Leave a Reply

