ipsy unbagging; february ’17

img_1752

“Baby you should go and love yourself”

February is usually overshadowed by Valentine’s Day and spending it with the ones you’re romantic with. More often than not, we tend to forget to love ourselves and our girlfrinds. Luckily, we have Ipsy for that!

This month’s Glam Bag is called “Much Love” and I perceived it to mean more about taking care of yourself and loving yourself. I’ve always been hard on myself and have a hard time giving myself a compliment, but this year has been about accepting who I am and loving myself in my own skin.

img_1692The design of this bag is inspired by your favorite pair of jeans, the ones you love your booty game in. I love the zipper of this bag and the neon orange trim!

 

 

 

NYX Professional Makeup Butter Lipstick in Lifeguard

img_1706-1

NYX was one of the first “big” makeup brands I tampered with when I first started wearing makeup years ago and it still remains a staple in my collection. NYX offers so many different kinds of makeup that don’t break the bank, which makes it a perfect starting out brand.

img_1751

NYX Cosmetics Butter lipstick in Lifeguard

I’ve been leaning away from liquid lipsticks lately and opting for more things that are hydrating, especially with the bitter New York winters. This Butter lipstick is no joke when it comes to its creamy formula, leaving my lips super soft, even without a lip balm!

The shade Lifeguard is described as a “deep magenta”, but to me, it’s red as red gets. (Plus, when I think lifeguards, I think of the Baywatch red swimsuits.) When I saw the swatch on the Ipsy Creators, I thought it’d be more sheer, but it’s actually a lot more pigmented and it does build up in color.

As for wearability, it does wear off rather easily and I had to reapply throughout the day. With its conditioning formula, I don’t mind reapplying, but sometimes it’s easier to have a lippie that’ll last without worry.

Save some! If you use code “BUTTERUP” on the NYX website, you’ll receive 25% off the Butter lipsticks!

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

IBY Beauty Highlighter in Bubbly

img_1693

I love my glow kits from Anastasia Beverly Hills and my Kat Von D Alchemist palette, but I do love a single highlighter that I can travel with. I have never heard of IBY Beauty before receiving it in my Glam Bag, but I’m excited to see what else they offer.

Usually with single highlighters, I find that the pigment is a little lackluster. IBY came to play with their Bubbly highlighter as a light coat is enough to just brighten the face. If you want to look extraterrestrial, then definitely build this product up.

This highlighter is versatile, meaning it can be used more as just a highlighter: try it as a blush, an eyeshadow color or even swipe it on your lips for a little extra sparkle! I opt for pinky highlights because of my skin tone and this one reminds me a lot of Pink Heart from the ABH Moonchild palette, which is nice for when I’m on the go and want just one shade.

img_1698-1

IBY Beauty Highlighter in Bubbly in natural light

img_1697-1

IBY Beauty Highlighter in Bubbly with flash

Save some! If you use code “IPSY2017” on the IBY Beauty website, you’ll receive 50% ANY purchase!

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Promise Organic Nourishing Coconut Milk Daily Facial Scrub with Walnuts and Sugar

img_1715

If we’ve learned anything from my blog, it’s that fragrances are a deal breaker for me. This facial scrub from Promise Organic is so overbearingly sweet that it’s almost nauseating to use! I’ve received their Coconut Milk with Hibiscus moisturizer before in a Glam Bag, and the smell was so plastic-y that it turned me off, despite it actually being an okay moisturizer.

However, I’m conflicted because I really like the lather of this scrub. Some scrubs are just that, with sugar that just buffs away the dead skin. But this one reminded me a lot of the BeFine Food Skin Care exfoliating cleanser, which has been one of my all-time favorites.

img_1720-1

This formula is super thick, which makes it hard to build into a lather, but once it does, it foams up nicely to give a deep clean. I don’t exfoliate
my face every day, because I get so dry, but this one might be a good dupe to incorporate into my routine without breaking the bank.

Save some! If you use code “PROMISE30” at cvs.com, you’ll receive 30% off all Promise Organic products!

Rating: 3 out of 5

Elizabeth Mott Whatup Beaches Matte Bronzer 

img_1701

In the month of January, I kept leaning towards my Bahama Mama bronzer from theBalm that I reviewed here because it’s light enough to just chisel my face without looking too harsh. However, Whatup Beaches might replace that real quick.

img_1702

Elizabeth Mott Whatup Beaches matte bronzer in natural light

img_1703

Elizabeth Mott Whatup Beaches matte bronzer with flash

This matte bronzer is so unbelievably creamy that you’d think it was cream! It’s a pressed powder that builds nicely and doesn’t leave you looking orange. Since the size I received was small, I place the product with my fingers and then buff out with a brush in the hollows of my cheeks, the sides of my nose and across my forehead.

The only critic I have about this bronzer is the sample size I received, which is nothing against the product itself. The packaging is way too big for the dime-sized pan it came in and it makes it almost impossible to pick up with a brush. However, I was so in love with the sample, I’ll probably buy the full size!

Save some! If you use code “IPSYBRONZER” on the Elizabeth Mott website, you’ll receive 50% any purchase!

Rating: 5 out of 5

Luxie Rose Gold Blush Brush 514

img_1714

When I first signed up for Ipsy, I hated receiving brushes in my Glam Bags. I thought they were extraneous and took away from all the makeup I could try. Now, I wish I received them every month!

Makeup brushes are such an important part of the glam experience that gets so overlooked. Using a quality brush really makes a difference to the final look and investing in them is something that shouldn’t be taken lightly. I hate buying brushes because it’s so costly, but it’s something that has to be done.

Luxie is a brand that I’ve received before in a Glam Bag and a lot of gurus swear by them. The rose gold color of them is so dainty and feminine and fit perfectly with the theme of my vanity/desk.

The bristles are vegan, synthetic and cruelty-free, which gives you peace of mind using.

Save some! If you use code “IPSYBLUSH” on the Luxie website, you’ll receive 30% off!

Rating: 4 out of 5

If you’re interested in joining Ipsy, use my referral code here!

About sarah

24. writer. obsessed with makeup, french bulldogs and sparkle.
This entry was posted in beauty subscriptions, makeup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ipsy unbagging; february ’17

  1. Pingback: ipsy unbagging: march ’17 | life with sarah

  2. Pingback: ipsy unbagging: april ’17 | life with sarah

Leave a Reply

