sephora play unboxing: february ’17

Show me your soft side. 

There’s something about soft tones and blush colors that make my heart happy. We’re usually drowned in the shades of red for Valentine’s Day and often forget about the softer side of things. Luckily, we have Sephora to remind us!

img_1833

This month’s theme is called “The Soft Side” and help us transition into spring with some products to help our best self radiate through. I notice a lot of nudes and natural looks through this month’s Play Box and it’s getting me excited to shed away these winter blues.

img_1837

Clinique Pep-Start Hydroblur Moisturizer

Clinique is quickly becoming one of those brands that are becoming mainstays in my collection, especially their skincare! My go-to makeup remover is the Take the Day Off balm and I’ve been excited to try more of their collection.

This moisturizer reminds me a lot of the consistency of Benefit’s Pore Fessional, but unlike that, I actually like this product. It makes my make-up blend well and it keeps my skin hydrated and relatively shine-free.

The pamphlet also noted that it can be used to touch up your makeup throughout the day if it begins to melt, which I haven’t tried yet, but I’m amped to. My makeup tends to get shiny between my brows, the sides of my nose and my chin so hitting my skin with the Hydroblur should hopefully help!

Rating: 4 out of 5

Too Faced Lip Injection Glossy in Milkshake

img_1838

Back when I first started to dabble in makeup, I used to live for the Victoria Secret’s lip plumper. I had no idea why, but I loved the tingling sensation when applying it and loved the results of full lips. As I grew up, that obsession slipped to the wayside and I opted for more natural looking choices and matte liquid lips.

I was stoked to find this in my box this month! Too Faced revived my love for full lips, thanks to their Lip Injection. This Milkshake shade is a light nude that works perfectly under any lip color or on its own. The formula is a little tacky, but it’s to be expected with a plumper. Also to note that this plumper has avocado and jojoba oil to keep lips soft.

The pamphlet that came with the box this month noted to use this product consistently for 30 days to see the full results, which is why I’ve thrown it right in my purse!

Rating: 4 out of 5

Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Quench Lip Rescue in Nude

img_1839

I don’t leave the house without a lip balm, and if I do, I will deliberately go to a store to purchase one. There’s nothing worse than chapped lips! I like this balm from Tarte because it’s silky and it adds a little color for those mornings that I don’t put on a lippie, which has been a lot lately.

img_1862

RIP lip balm!

The packaging is adorable, but I’m not sure if it’s because of the sample size, but the product itself felt very flimsy when I applied it. It also became cut and ridged along the sides while using it, which makes me nervous that it’ll break. Whether it’s because the product is too moisturized or because it’s been unseasonably warm,
it makes me hesitant to use it as my go-to choice for lip balms.

Another weird thing I noticed when using this product is that my bottom lip formed this weird rough patch, almost as if there was a cut on it and it was healing. I checked my product for anything that might cut my lip, but didn’t notice anything and I don’t have this issue with any other lip balms I use. Just bizarre.

Rating: 3 out of 5

Sephora Collection Lashcraft Length & Volume Mascara

img_1834

I wanted to like this product, but there’s a part of me that isn’t sold on it. The wand on this mascara is flat and it lifts lashes and adds that bit of volume that everyone loves and I love the fact that it was so easy to wash off. It’s literally as simple as applying water to the lashes and a quick rub off.

img_1847

natural lashes on left, sephora lash craft on right (two coats)

However, this product had a weird affect on my eyes, which might explain a lot about why I don’t like it. Normally with mascaras, I don’t run into issues of sensitivity or watery eyes, but with this one, my eyes watered an abnormal amount, which caused a lot of flakiness. They were itchy and irritated my contacts, which isn’t ideal for the long nights I have to work. Even though my lashes looked fantastic, as evident in the picture, it’s not worth my eye’s sensitivity.

Rating: 2 out of 5

Origins GinZing Refreshing Eye Cream

img_1840

Eye creams are essentially snake oil in my opinion, but I think it’s because I’m too young to really think about implicating them into my current routine. I don’t think about using them because I don’t have notable wrinkles and fine lines, but it’s never too early to take preventative action.

I was interested in this product because I usually see Origins at Sephora, but never think to actually try them out since I have my favorites for skincare. This products says that it helps depuff and brighten the eye area, which I figured would be ideal for those late nights and early mornings.

The product is tacky and is hard to blend out, but it does have an iridescent sheen to it, which I can see how it brightens the face. It’s not my favorite, but it’s not the worst I’ve ever used.

Rating: 3 out of 5

Prada Candy Perfume

img_1841

The perfume selections I normally receive from Sephora aren’t my favorites, however I was pretty stoked for this month’s choice.

I usually don’t buy into luxury brands, simply because I can’t afford them. When you hear “Prada”, I imagine Meryl Streep or some other lavish woman decked out to the nines. I don’t envision myself wearing or using their products.

However, Prada’s CANDY is warm and cozy smelling without being overbearing. It’s subtle enough that a spritz here and there will last all day and its notes of caramel, vanilla and white musk blend well together with my body’s natural chemistry.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Just a reminder: Sephora Play is $10/month. To sign up: visit here.

About sarah

24. writer. obsessed with makeup, french bulldogs and sparkle.
This entry was posted in beauty subscriptions, makeup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to sephora play unboxing: february ’17

  1. Pingback: ipsy unbagging: march ’17 | life with sarah

  2. Pingback: sephora play unboxing: may ’17 | life with sarah

  3. Pingback: sephora play unboxing: july ’17 | life with sarah

Leave a Reply

