ipsy unbagging: march ’17

You are beautiful. (Pass it on)

It’s my one year anniversary since signing up for Ipsy and it’s time to celebrate!

This month’s bag is themed Tres Jolie, which means very pretty in French. (Shoutout to Duolingo for helping me learn French!) Its mauve clutch bag has me ready to stop and smell the roses and shed the winter blues.

I’m noticing a lot of nudes and floral prints for spring, and no different with the contents with this month’s bag. A lot of the products have us looking at some self-love to get us in the right direction for springtime. Plus, there’s an adorable note that says “You are beautiful (Pass it on)” to remind us that we’re all beautiful in our own ways and to share the love.

Here’s what’s inside my Ipsy Bag this month:

Marc Anthony True Professional Deep Repair Aloe Vera & Jasmine Oil
Deep Repairing Conditioning Treatment

“I promise to make a pact to start taking better care of my hair.” How many times have I’ve said that to myself? More than I’d like to admit…. My color-treated locks beg of hydration and moisture, and this deep conditioning treatment from Marc Anthony True Professional is fantastic for a weekly pick-me-up.

I’ve received the original formula in a previous GlamBag and I loved how much of a powerful punch this packed, while still remaining lightweight and keeping my hair bouncy. It’s perfect to use in the shower as you can throw it on and forget about it while you either shave or wash up elsewhere. I’ve been meaning to buy a full-sized sample, but simply haven’t gotten around to it.

The scent is clean, but fresh smelling, reminding me of the early days of spring/summer. With the upcoming plans to overhaul my hair, I definitely plan on implementing this into my weekly routine, since it’s color-safe!

I only ticked off half a point because when trying to figure out where to purchase, I noticed that it’s only available in a small trail size packet that contains 1.69 fl. oz. Here’s to hoping it comes in a full-size soon…

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Face Moisturizer

Sometimes, beauty subscriptions just know you better than you know yourself: For months, I’ve been meaning to look into First Aid Beauty, but simply just haven’t gotten around to it. Thankfully, Ipsy here’s to help.

My skin always craves moisture and especially with the long, drawn-out winter New York has been experiencing, my skin is waving its white flag. It cannot take it anymore and needs a revival. Pronto.

I like this one from FAB because it’s lightweight. It takes all of its benefits from its higher concentrated formula, but dubs it down so it’s not overbearing. It’s packed with shea butter and avocado oil to really hit with hydration and the colloidal oatmeal soothes itchiness, which has been a major problem for me around my bottom lip. Just keep in mind this moisturizer doesn’t have an SPF, so be sure to load up before you head out.

Since lately I’ve been overwhelmed with moisturizers, I think I’ll keep this one in my gym bag for constant hydration.

Save some! Use code “IPSY0317” on firstaidbeauty.com to receive 15% off your purchase

Rating: 3 out of 5

Elizabeth Mott Blending Brush

I’ve mentioned in last month’s Ipsy Unbagging that when I first signed up with Ipsy, I dreaded getting brushes. The Ipsy gods and goddesses heard my prayers and have hooked a sister up with another brush this month!

Elizabeth Mott is a brand that I’ve been getting familiar with since signing up with Ipsy, testing out their blushes, their bronzer (which I HIGHLY recommend) and now their brushes. Checking out their website, I notice that they only have three brushes, including this one, which makes me wonder about the status of them: Are they coming or are they going? In any consolation, this looks like an up-and-coming brand, since there’s not a lot of product variety on the site.

The robin egg blue handle and the rose gold framing of it is very feminine, making me feel very springy and pretty. It’s a great brush aesthetically to add to my growing collection.

In terms of practicality, a girl can never have too many blending brushes. This one’s great because it’s dense and picks up a lot of product, making it great to build up color in your crease. It fits nicely in the hand and makes controlling it easier compared than a long-handled brush.

Save some! Use code “BLENDING50” on elizabethmott.com to receive 50% off any purchase.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Tarte Cosmetics tastiest quick dry matte lip paint in rosé

Your girl doesn’t need another liquid lippie, but who can say no to ones that are hydrating and long lasting?

Tarte Cosmetics has always been a brand that I’ve overlooked, as mentioned here and here. Since then, I’ve been trying to fall more and more in love with them, receiving the Tarte Birthday gift from Sephora this year.

The lip paints are amazing because they dry matte and don’t budge once applied. The wearability of it is fantastic and they don’t kiss or eat off.

Springtime means a lot of neutral shades and I mentioned in my February Birchbox Unboxing post that nude shades are hard for me to get on board with because I’m so fair-skinned. This one is good for my skin tone because it’s not really pink based, but looks and dries more sienna and brown colored than it does rose, which compliments the tones I wear.

I want to get on board with nude colors, especially with the predicted pinks and peach tones for springtime and this might become a quick favorite go-to shade for the spring and summer months. It might even replace Kat Von D’s Lolita, my current go-to every day favorite.

Save more! Use code “IPSYMAR” on tarte.com  to receive 20% off your purchase!

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Doucce Freematic Eyeshadow in Marisa

At the surface, I HATED this shadow. But, Momma always said don’t judge a shadow by its color…

doucce freematic eyeshadow in marisa, dry

When I first opened it, it had such a weak pigment pick-up that I was highly disappointed. It swatched terribly thin and felt so cheap that I immediately thought about chucking it into the trash, that’s how much I hated it.

You can tell that it’s a single shade, which is fine and all, but the packaging felt so flimsy that I was nervous holding it in fear that I would drop and shatter it.  Everything about this product made me upset because I expected so much better from Ipsy…

…Until I went online and did my research.

It’s entirely made to be a low-pigment shadow dry. It’s meant to look natural and subdued when applied with a dry brush, but when you wet the brush… It completely changes the game! This little shade packs such a punch of pigment when it’s wet that it can even be used as a metallic eyeliner, an untraditional spin on the stereotypical black.

Even when wet, I’m still not entirely sold on the shadow. I’m not sure if it’s because my prejudgement already spoiled my open mind about trying to accept it, but it’s probably a product I won’t reach for often. However, Doucce offers a TON of single shades, so maybe not all hope is lost.

Save some! Use code “SHADOW30” on doucce.com to save 30% off your full purchase.

Rating: 3 out of 5

If you’re interested in joining Ipsy, use my referral code here!

About sarah

24. writer. obsessed with makeup, french bulldogs and sparkle.
This entry was posted in beauty subscriptions, makeup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

