sephora play unboxing: march ’17

You can glow your own way.

Lately, I’ve been loving my Sephora Play Box choices and I’ve been pleasantly surprised.

This month’s theme is “The Gleam Team” and is all about radiating beauty and illuminating galore, which is right up my alley. Some of these products I’ve never heard of before and I’ve been loving new ways to explore all facets of makeup.

Here’s what was in my Sephora PlayBox this month:

GLAMGLOW GLOWSTARTER Mega Illuminating Moisturizer in Nude Glow

When I first discovered GLAMGLOW, I thought it was a hyped-up crock of crap. YouTubers swore the product line up and down, claiming miracles. With the hefty price tag, I reluctantly purchased a small sample of the THIRSTYMUD Hydrating Treatment, and I suddenly believed in a higher deity that would solve all my skin issues.

I quickly became addicted to purchasing all of their small samples that catch your eye at the check-out line in Sephora. I swear them to anyone who’s interested in taking the best care of their skin and I was elated to see this bad boy in my PlayBox.

Straight up, the best part about GLAMGLOW is their stuff smells delicious. This moisturizer is no exception because it smells like Creamsicles! Not only does it smell divine, it actually does its intended job. This moisturizer is incredibly hydrating, leaves my skin with a subtle glow and made my makeup look and feel smooth.

This was the one hint Sephora released about what was inside their PlayBox this month and I was so pumped. At $49 for a 1.7 fl. oz. jar, it seems pricey, but I think it’s finally a moisturizer I can get on board with.

(Plus, bring in that PlayBox Pass and earn an additional 50 Beauty Insider Points? S O L D!)

Rating: 5 out of 5

Verb Ghost Oil

If we’ve learned anything, it’s never to judge a product on the surface. I should really start to follow my own advice… especially when it comes to hair products.

This ghost hair oil from Verb is nice for a quick pick-me-up for some instant shine and control. I especially like it because it’s light in scent and disperses well. It can be used on either wet or dry hair, which makes it a staple in my collection. It doesn’t weigh hair down and it does make my hair incredibly soft.

I’ve used this on wet hair and dry hair and noticed major results. On dry hair, it tamed any fly-a-ways I might have had and adds some mid-day shine. On wet hair, I used it after using a deep conditioning treatment, and though I’m not sure if it was from the treatment or the oil, but my locks that are usually difficult to comb through didn’t fight back and snarl too much! The product is cheap too, so when I consider repurchasing, it won’t break the bank.

Also, how cute is this little dude on the packaging?!

Rating: 4 out of 5

Benefit Watt’s Up! Cream-to-Powder Highlighter

One trend that isn’t going anyway anytime soon is highlighting and strobing. And I’m a-okay with that.

This month’s PlayBox is undoubtedly all about your inner glow, so what better way to light up the room with a dope cream-to-powder highlighter? If you’re in search, check out Watt’s Up! from Benefit.

This pretty champagne-colored highlighter is ideal for those days that you need to amp up your face. It’s not blinding, but can easily be built up to achieve that look. The sample size is idea to get into those tighter areas like eyebrow bones, noses and Cupid’s Bow and the product does disperse nicely.

As I noted in my Birchbox post this month, powder highlights are my preferred, but this is nice to throw in your bag for a quick pick-me-up.

Rating: 3 out of 5

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion in Original

Sephora has a way to make me fall back in love with cult favorites. Almost like as soon as they’re out of my mind, BAM, they come knocking back on my door.

This was actually the first-ever “high-end” make-up I made a staple in my collection years ago. I remember buying the UD Naked palette (the first one!) and swearing to my mother that I absolutely needed the primer to go with it, or it simply wouldn’t work!

Young me wasn’t entirely wrong… Eyeshadow primers help keep your eyeshadow in place and help avoid creasing. Certain formulas help with different affects on the eyes, like adding shimmer, but for me, the original is the way to go. This is a product that I use every single day, never fail and I highly recommend to anyone dabbling into make-up. UD also works with basically any other eyeshadow and just ensures that you’re getting the most bang for your buck.

Since I started using the Primer Potion, it’s since been repackaged. I love the sample size because it’s perfect to throw in my travel make-up bag and I won’t have to worry about lugging around the full-size. However, with the actual size, it uses a doe-foot applicator, which makes using the entire tube difficult without cutting it open and scrapping off the sides.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Josie Maran Surreal Skin Argan Finishing Balm

If you watch my Youtube video about this unboxing, I had no idea what this product was. What does a finishing balm even do? Finishes your makeup, duh.

Before this, I had never even heard of finishing balm as a part of anyone’s beauty routine, so maybe that’s why I wasn’t familiar with the product. I’ve heard of Josie Maran the brand before, but didn’t even know where to begin with this balm.

It says in the pamphlet to press it into your skin as the last step of your routine. At first, I thought it seems like a bad idea, as if the product would dull down my full-face makeup. Because you’re using a pressing motion, it helps keep everything intact. However, since I wasn’t sold, I still ended up hitting my face with a setting spray for safe measure.

I like the product, but I’m still learning on how to exactly use it. If you have suggestions, leave them in a comment!

Rating: 3 out of 5

Atelier Cologne Clementine California Cologne Absolute Pure Perfume

There’s no better way to warm up your thoughts than thinking about the California coast and some juicy clementines.

This pure perfume from Atelier Cologne makes my mouth water with its top citrusy notes of clementine, mandarin and juniper berries but makes me feel comfortable with the hints of sandalwood and pepper. Because it’s created with the concept of a cologne, it has high concentrates of essential oils, which makes it unisexual.

Its scent is very potent when first applied, but it’s not long lasting. It doesn’t take your breath away, but it doesn’t wrinkle your nose when smelt. I wish it lasted longer and I wish it didn’t bear the hefty price tag, which is why I ticked some points off.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Just a reminder: Sephora Play is $10/month. To sign up: visit here.

About sarah

24. writer. obsessed with makeup, french bulldogs and sparkle.
This entry was posted in beauty subscriptions, makeup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

