what’s in my gym bag


“I be up in the gym, just workin’ on my fitness.”

Going to the gym can be incredibly overwhelming for people first starting out. It can be an even bigger dose of anxiety when you forget your headphones or water bottle at home! Pack a gym bag with all your essentials, so this way you’re never caught without again!

I recently picked up this bag from Macy’s. I used to use the duffle bag they give you when you sign up at Planet Fitness as my bag. It had been about four years since I got it and I used it for so long that the bottom started to thin out! This one from ban.do is perfect because it’s similar in size to my original bag, it offers a compartments to store things and it gives me a little dose of confidence with it’s “Think It. Want It. Get It” print on the bag.

On the handle of my gym bag, I keep my Beats by Dr. Dre wireless headphones in their protective case. Also in the case is the wire, in the event my headphones die.

I pack my gym bag every night with an outfit before I head to bed. This way, it gives me one last opportunity in the morning to make sure I don’t forget anything. Usually, my gym outfit consists of a pair of compression leggings, a sports bra, a tank top and a spare hoodie, in case I want to do a sweat session.

Also in my bag is an old baseball cap that I use to intensify workouts and to induce sweat for those days I need an extra push.

I’ve also learned to always keep a spare pair of socks in my bag. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve worn flats or boots with heavy socks to work, headed to the gym to only find out I forgot a pair of ankle socks! Even if I pack a pair in my bag with my outfit, I always keep a spare.

On one of the side pockets, I keep a pair of workout gloves and iPhone arm sleeve. I use the gloves for whenever I’m lifting or using hand weights, which is roughly once or twice a week. The iPhone arm sleeve isn’t something I use often, but I always keep it in there in the event I don’t have pockets in my leggings or if I don’t bring a hoodie.

Only since recently have I started using pre-workout in my routine. I always keep a container in my bag for those days that I definitely need a pick-me-up. I don’t use it every day, but I like this one from Fitmiss because it’s got the scoop already in the package.

I’m really guilty about not taking my makeup off before heading to the gym, which is why I love throwing these facial wipes from Simple in my bag. They’re not over drying, they don’t leave my face irritated and they do a great job of taking off makeup with one swipe.

I’ve utilized an old Ipsy Glam Bag as a catch-all for my gym bag. In here, I keep odds and ends things, like a deodorant, Chapstick, moisturizer and a water spray for the hotter months. Also inside are a few extra hair-ties and bobby pins.

Some bigger items I keep in my gym bag are perfumes and dry shampoo. There’s fewer things worse than being caught in having to run errands post-workout, so it’s always ideal to keep a body spray in your bag.

On those days I have to do something after the gym, I always throw a little dry shampoo in my hair to soak up some of the sweat and to refresh my hair.

What do you keep in your gym bag? Let me know in a comment!

About sarah

24. writer. obsessed with makeup, french bulldogs and sparkle.
This entry was posted in fitness, organization and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

