how to stay in the loop, ft. theskimm

All about that #SkimmLife

Ever since I graduated school, I’ve always felt out of touch with current events…

… And I currently work for a newspaper.

When I was a high school student, I took college-credited government and economics courses and at the beginning of every class, we would go around the room and share a small news story we read from a reliable news source and discuss.

I dreaded having to look up one every single morning, but my professor was preparing us for the real world.

As we grow up, we don’t realize how many times we find ourselves in a conversation without the full knowledge and background information about topics in the news. More often than not, we run with something we saw on Facebook as “fully reliable information” and spread it like wildfire.

In today’s day and age, we’re all plugged into our devices, constantly being fed information and we’re developing a serious overload. How can we take it all in and manage to stay afloat?

Luckily, I’ve got a solution for you. Let me introduce you to theSkimm.

theSkimm is a newsletter that’s delivered to your email’s inbox every weekday morning (roughly around 7 a.m.) with a condensed version of new stories that people are talking about. What’s even more ideal about theSkimm is that they link the full version of those stories so you can fully expand your knowledge.

It’s a hassle-free way to make yourself smarter. Even working for a newspaper, I don’t have time to go searching for information. Not only do they brief you on daily stories, they take the time to break down important topics like the recent Presidential Campaign, the Immigration issues and lay out the foundation so you have a better understanding.

Plus, if anyone’s picked up a newspaper, they know it’s cut-and-dry. I love theSkimm because it’s written in a way to peak your interest with some humor that makes reading it a breeze.

In addition, theSkimm offers a lot of varying products to buy (at discounted prices through their sponsorships) as well as book recommendations and contests to enter.

Since signing up, I bought a online class bundle of ways to amp up social media knowledge and resume for $50 (the bundle was originally retailed at WELL OVER $1K!). Plus, I’ve discovered a few books to add to my Goodreads Book Challenge!

If you want to stay in the loop, use my referral code here.

*Note: By no means was I asked to write this piece about theSkimm, they’re just a service that I highly recommend to everyone I know. Also to note, theSkimm newsletter is free but they do offer a SkimmAhead app that features things beyond the letter, which I do not use.

About sarah

24. writer. obsessed with makeup, french bulldogs and sparkle.
This entry was posted in lifestyle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

