birchbox unboxing: april ’17

It’s what’s inside that matters most. 

If we’ve learned anything on this blog, it’s to never ever judge a beauty product by its packaging!

This month’s Birchbox is all about products that are packed with feel-good ingredients, making us feel beautiful inside and out! At the surface, we might not see its benefits, but deep down, these products will make you believe in magic.

Normally, Birchbox is known for their colorful packaging, but just like the products curated, this box is packed with a punch of color for springtime vibes. I’m loving the aesthetics.

Here’s a breakdown of what’s in my Birchbox this month:

amika Nourishing Mask

Hair masks are definitely something I wish to incorporate into my routine more often than I actually do. However, finding the perfect one can be a struggle.

My only gripe with this one from amika was that no where did it specify if it was for wet or dry hair! Even with looking on the website, there was no clear indication on directional use. Being brave, I worked it through dry hair and felt that it was incredibly tacky and hard to distribute and borderline impossible to brush through with a wide-tooth comb, as suggested.

However,  I worked it through the mid shaft to my ends and twisted my hair into a bun for about 15 minutes before showering. I rinsed it out and then proceeded to wash out with the shampoo and conditioner received this month from Davines. Upon rinsing out, my hair felt incredibly smooth and definitely worth the headache of applying.

The smell is really light, but powerful and definitely something I could grow to like. My hair felt smoother and healthier after applying. The only downside, aside from the unclear directions, was that the sample size was only enough for one treatment!

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Davines LOVE Smoothing Shampoo and Conditioner

Last month, Birchbox sent me Davine’s Naturaltech shampoo and conditioner and this month, I received the LOVE combo, which I’m not sure I’m in LOVE with.

Similar to the Naturaltech, it has a very “natural smell”, indicating that it’s made with olive extract, which isn’t my preferred shampoo/conditioner scent! The consistency of this product is easier to lather than the other and I like how thick the conditioner is and I feel that it does seep into my hair and pack in moisture.

It does combat frizziness and  left my hair soft with some added shine, which I’ll never complain about!

I’ve complained about Birchbox in the past with the shampoo/conditioner samples, but I might as well learn to embrace it, because I don’t foresee it ending anytime soon.

Rating: 3 out of 5

Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser

Right off the get-go, I was impressed with the complete package that Birchbox sent for this Liz Earle hot cloth system. Not only did it come with a hefty 1-ounce sample size, but it comes with a full size reusable muslin cloth to use with it!

This is a daily cleanser, suggested for twice a day, seemed like a major process. First, you put the product on a dry face, massaging it into the skin in circular motions away from the face. Then, taking the muslin cloth, you run it under hot water (hot enough that you can tolerate) and wipe away the product. Once you’re done, you splash your face with cold water and follow up with a toner and moisturizer.

A lot of work, right?! However, it’s totally worth following directions for the results I received.

Despite some redness, which I assumed was from the combination of wiping with the cloth and the differing hot and cold water, my face looked brighter, my pores looked smaller and my skin felt incredibly smooth. I love how it can be washed and reused with other products.

Rating: 4.5 out 5

ModelCo Lip Enhancer Illusion Lip Liner

Everyone needs a good, reliable, trustworthy lip liner that won’t do them wrong.

Lip liners are one step in my beauty regime that I often forget to do (I’d much rather opt for a few more zzz’s than well-placed lips!) but on those mornings I don’t want my red lip to budge, I take the extra minute or two.

Don’t ever feel you’re stuck with having to buy a lip liner that matches every shade of lipstick you own, this nude Lip Enhancer from ModelCo will be your new BFF. It goes on nude and is more of an insurance and peace of mind that my bold lips won’t end up all over my face.

Lip liners don’t normally make the cut in my beauty routine, but this one’s good on those days that I wear a bright, bold or daring color. It helps keep everything in place and I know where to look when I want the full size. (Bonus, the full size comes with a built-in sharpener!)

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

This Works Deep Sleep Pillow Spray

Lord knows I don’t need any help falling asleep, but no matter how early I go to bed, I still wake up each day feeling like I raved until dawn.

This was the product I selected this month, simply because it peaked my interest. I used a pillow spray back in the day from the aromatherapy collection from Bath & Body Works and I wanted to see if it was comparable. I bought the one from B&BW because Blair, or JuicyStar07 on YouTube, suggested it and I was gullible!

Lavender is one of those scents that I can only take in small doses, and it’s usually not before I fall asleep. However, this product’s scent isn’t overbearing and it lulls me into sleep.

There’s no time like right now with the start of NHL playoff hockey to test this bad boy out, with late night overtimes and a full slate of games. In the morning of those late nights, I feel more alert and refreshed.

Rating: 3 out of 5

If you’re interested in signing up for Birchbox, use my referral link here!

About sarah

24. writer. obsessed with makeup, french bulldogs and sparkle.
This entry was posted in beauty subscriptions, makeup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to birchbox unboxing: april ’17

  1. Pingback: birchbox unboxing: june ’17 | life with sarah

Leave a Reply

