ipsy unbagging: april ’17

Step right up for the Sideshow!

One reason why I love Ipsy is because they always opt to take untraditional approaches to new ideas. This month’s theme is called “Side Show” and plays a fun spin on the quirks and things that make us who we are.

The Glam Bag this month is a ticket stub to the sideshow, which can be used as a cute clutch. It’s a statement piece that will definitely be a conversation starter.

Here’s what’s inside my Ipsy GlamBag this month:

Elizabeth Mott Show Me Your Glow shimmer shadow & highlighter

It’s because of Ipsy I’ve discovered my love for Elizabeth Mott and have suggested it to everyone under the sun. Another month, another sample from their collection to test out and I’m super excited because we all know how I adore highlighters!

This one has a nice shimmer to it, not having a lot of glitter chunk. It’s perfect for those days of minimal sheen. It’s not too heavy, but it does built up for some blinding cheekbones. It’s can be used as an eyeshadow, but the subtly of it is perfect for minimal days.

The formula is so similar to it’s What Up Beaches bronzer, which I received and reviewed here, which is really creamy for a powder. This is a perfect highlighter to add for the upcoming summer months.

Save some! Use code “GLOW50” at elizabethmott.com to receive 50% off any purchase!

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

EM Cosmetics Illustrative Eyeliner Brush Tip

For someone who has found their favorite eyeliner a few months ago, I’m very stubborn with trying new products, especially from companies I’ve never heard of.

Kids, do your homework and research brands before you make a judgement.

EM Cosmetics was created by Ipsy co-founder Michelle Phan, who is the real OG beauty guru. Even though I never watched a lot of Michelle’s videos, I love the fact that someone who’s started out on YouTube has branched and branded herself into such an inspiration to aspiring beauty guru’s like myself. One of these days, I’ll make it a GenBeauty because I’d love to hear her words.

As the liner goes, I like it. Since using the Maybelline Master Precise Curvy liner, I’ve been hesitant to use pen liners, even with my obsession with my Kat Von D Tattoo liner.  This one is easy to maneuver and my wings are still precise, not shaky like with some pens. The pigment can be built up, but I’m slow and steady with my wings anyway.

Save some! Use code “IPSY25” to save 25% off  two ore more items at EMCosmetics.com!

Rating: 4 out of 5

Theorie Marula Oil Transforming Hair Serum

In my March Faves and Hidden Gems video, I mentioned how much I loved the Ciate London marula cuticle oil. When I saw this hair serum from Theorie packed with marula oil, I was stoked.

I should probably learn how to say marula properly because I feel like this gift from God will be a mainstay in everyone’s beauty routine.

This oil has tons of moisturizing features and it helps keep things shiny and healthy. It’s a protectant that helps combat frizziness and helps with heat protection. It’s even better because it’s sulfate-free and safe for color-treated hair, perfect for my newly dyed hair.

It takes a lot to make me fall in love with hair serums, and this one just doesn’t cut it for me. It can be used on wet or dry hair and with testing on both, there’s not really anything that sells it home. Not that there’s anything wrong with it, it’s just not something that I see myself repurchasing.

Save some! Use code “LOVEIPSY30” to receive 30% off any Theorie purchase and free shipping!

Rating: 2.5 out of 5

Dream by PS Cosmeceutical Infused Nail Lacquer in Southern Sand

Nudes and blushes have been popping up around this spring, including everything from clothing, makeup and nail polish.

Infused nail lacquers seem like the best of all worlds, but you have to find the right one. This one by PS Cosmeceutical is packed with grapefruit seed extract, which is suppose to deliver hydration to your nail beds. It’s vegan and animal cruelty free, so it gives you some peace of mind with purchasing.

In the bottle, it looks more taupe than it does peach, which was a surprise when I applied. I don’t usually go for lighter shades like this, because they feather and crack on my nails and this one is no exception. My nails have broke and peeled with this polish, though it might have been because of a half-assed manicure. (I was in a rush!)

Save some! Use code “IPSY30” to receive 30% off any purchase!

Rating: 2.5 out of 5

Luxie Dreamcatcher Precision Foundation Brush 660

My itty, bitty brush collection has been growing, thanks to Ipsy and I couldn’t be happier about it.

Like the Elizabeth Mott products, I’ve been receiving a lot of brushes in my Glam Bags. As I’ve mentioned before, makeup brushes are such a vital step in the glam process that we often overlook because it’s such an investment. I’d much rather spend my money on products like palettes and lippies than invest in good quality brushes.

Luxie is a great brand for brushes because they’re great quality. They run on the pricey side, but for the construction of them, they’re worth it. I’ve had a few Luxie brushes in my day and I often grab them first when it comes to getting ready.

Save some! Use code “IPSY660” to receive 30% off Luxie brushes!

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

If you’re interested in joining Ipsy, use my referral code here!

About sarah

24. writer. obsessed with makeup, french bulldogs and sparkle.
This entry was posted in beauty subscriptions, makeup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

