sephora play unboxing: april ’17


The best things in life are me!

I often overlook the preparation step in my beauty routine and want to jump right into the finalizing products. For as long as I’ve been wearing makeup, I’m just now starting to learn how important it is to get down to basics to ensure a seamless look.

This month, Sephora helped us gear in the right direction with its choices for it’s Play Box. A lot of the products are used to prep and prepare our faces for makeup application and down to the removal process.

Here’s what’s inside my Sephora PlayBox this month:

Peter Thomas Roth Water Drench Hyaluronic Cloud Cream Moisturizer

Is it too late to make a beauty resolution? Because if it’s not, I need to find great quality moisturizers to swap into my routine!

Peter Thomas Roth has been a brand that I’ve been wanting to sample, but already love my go-to skincare favorites that I often forget about researching. Sephora knows me better than I know myself most days…

This moisturizer is super duper light weight, which won’t wear you down in the upcoming summer months and it melts into a refreshing, almost water-y like consistency. It delivers some serious hydration to my skin and I could definitely see myself using this in the dog days of summer.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Daisy by Marc Jacobs Perfume

Daisy was one of the very first high-end fragrances I ever discovered, thanks to a year-subscription to TeenVogue. I remember telling my teenage self that this was a scent I wanted to bathe in. Not because I genuinely liked the scent, but because it was literally in the magazines and because my life inspo Lauren Conrad wore it.

Obviously as a kid, I wouldn’t even dare to imagine trying to buy it, simply because it was hella expensive for someone who had $0 to her name! However, as a young adult who has some extra spending money, we might be able to negotiate.

As I’ve gotten older, I’ve mentioned that my preferred scents have changed over time. I’ve started to opt for more fresh, florally scents and Daisy is right up my alley for a possible signature scent. Despite its name, it’s not as flower-power as I recalled and the subtle hints of strawberry add just the right amount of sweetness. The bottom notes of musk make my heart sing with the added coziness.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Sephora Collection Waterproof Eye Makeup Remover

If you’re looking to budget appropriately, but are in need of a heavy duty makeup remover, then consider checking out this one from the Sephora Collection.

Makeup removers are a vital step in the beauty regime, however I’m still loving the Clinique Take the Day Off balm and don’t see myself parting from it yet. This one from Sephora isn’t my absolute favorite, since the oil portion of the remover runs and smears over my face than it does clean it up, but it’s nice to throw in a travel makeup bag for those quick fixes.

Rating: 2.5 out of 5

Kate Somerville ExfoliKate Intensive Exfoliation Treatment

It’s like Sephora has a way of reading my mind when it comes to curating my box. For months, I’ve been meaning to get my hands on something from Kate Somerville, but didn’t even know where to begin. What better way to test something out than a clinically-tested two minute exfoliating treatment!

I’ve never directly came out and said how much I dislike my skin. Throughout my nose, chin and even the tops of my cheeks, I have blackheads that never seem to go away, no matter how many treatments and extractions I do. It’s something I’ve always been self-conscious about how “dirty” my skin looks and no matter how many facials I get/products I try, I can’t seem to get rid of them.

By no means is this a miracle product, but it’s pretty damn close. I love how it comes in two formulas: the intensive and the gentle, so that way you can decide which is best for your skin without being too harsh. It’s super easy to use and as a once a week treatment, I could see myself implementing this into my routine.

Wet your face and massage the product in for 30 seconds, then leave it on the skin for up to two minutes. I love how you can feel the enzymes break down whatever imperfections are on the face and even though there is a slight tingling sensation, you can feel the papaya, pineapple, and pumpkin working. It has a distinct smell, which is definitely not awful. It’s smells almost like fall, with pumpkin, spice and everything nice!

After one use, I noticed my skin seemed brighter and that I didn’t have as many noticeable blackheads along my nose. Another thing I love about this exfoliate is that it comes in a 0.5-ounce size for $24, which is good if you factor in it’s a once/twice a week treatment.

Rating: 5 out of 5

Smashbox Iconic Photo Finish Foundation Primer

As I’ve mentioned before, Sephora has a way to make us fall in love with cult favorites. For some, it’s to fall back into love, for some, we’re falling for the first time.

Smashbox Photo Finish primer is one of the OG products of beauty routines I remember seeing as a young girl on YouTube. Beauty gurus swore this holy grail product up and down, insisting that it made their makeup stay in place. Sign me up!

Like the Daisy perfume, I finally got my hands on the product for the first time and I can see why everyone swears by it. It’s lightweight and has some moisturizing quality to it, which makes it easy to apply. My makeup adheres to it nicely and it does last for most of the day.

Rating: 3 out of 5

Make Up For Ever Aqua XL Eye Pencil Waterproof Eyeliner

Guess it’s time to fall back in love with eyeliners, since two of my three beauty subscriptions sent me new liners to test out!

This one, I could do without.

Pencil eyeliners aren’t my cup of tea, simply because I don’t like how they tug and pull on my lid when doing a winged look. I tried this pencil two ways: one just as a winged look with no shadow and with shadow. Without the shadow, the color smeared and transferred to my eyelids and under my eyes, making me look like I only got three hours of sleep.

This might be a great waterline pencil, but I very rarely line my waterline.

Rating: 2 out of 5

Just a reminder: Sephora Play is $10/month. To sign up: visit here.

About sarah

24. writer. obsessed with makeup, french bulldogs and sparkle.
This entry was posted in beauty subscriptions, makeup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

