ipsy unbagging: may ’17

Your summer story starts here…

Summer is quickly approaching and I couldn’t be more stoked. As much as I love winter and the cuddle cozies, I get excited to shed those layers and show some skin and to get a little more lax with my makeup routines. I’m incredibly guilty of skipping steps in my regime, but I’d rather spend my time soaking up the rays.

This month’s bag is all about products that take minimal time to apply so you can get out there and enjoy the sunshine with your girlfriends. The bag is insanely cute with its frozen treats making us all want to scream for ice cream! Plus, it’s a durable bag that holds a lot (speaking from experience, I used this Glam Bag to pack my makeup for Florida!)

Here’s what’s inside my Ipsy Glam Bag for May:

Adesse Organic Infused Nail Lacquer in Surfer Girl

This is my second polish from Adesse that I’ve gotten from Ipsy and I was elated when I opened this beauty. This brand has quickly become one of my favorite nail polishes because of their vegan, cruelty free, and non-toxic formula and their long and durable wearability.

These polishes give your nails a gel-like finish and they hold up phenomenally. Heck, they survived my trip to Disney World! I’m loving this Tiffany Blue color, which is a refreshing change this upcoming summer. For it being such a light shade, two coats makes it opaque enough that it won’t streak. Plus, its flat brush applicator, it makes for a perfect impromptu mani on the go.

Save some! Use code “IPSY20” to save 20% on any purchase and free shipping to the US at adesseny.com!

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Jelly Pong Pong Supercharged Super Intense Eyeshadow Duo in Electric

Sometimes, eyeshadow duos can be a blessing or they can be a disaster. Luckily, this one from Jelly Pong Pong compliments one another for quick makeup on the go.

These shades are packed with a lot of pigment in its small pan size. After watching on my finger, they left a creamy, pretty shimmer, but I was skeptical of whether they would transfer well with a brush. I hate to disappoint, but I couldn’t build enough pigment on a brush and blending it out was a little lackluster. These shades would be more ideal for a pop of shimmer, but not for a full commitment of depending on this shade to complete a full look.

This eyeshadow duo would be pretty for a minimal eye look, but I like to really make statements with my eyes. I’m sure if you used a wet brush, these shades would be insanely blinding.

Save some! Use code “IPSY20” to save 20% on any purchase at jellypongpong.com!

Rating: 2.5 out of 5

Urban Decay Afterglow in Sin

Urban Decay and I have sort of fallen out of love, but I think we’re ready to kiss and make up. Or maybe glow and make up.

Highlighters are my absolute favorite and I love getting my hands on all of them. UD was one of those brands that I swore up and down, but kind of fell apart with while discovering other brands and companies. With their marketing overall and repackaging of a lot of cult faves, I’m jumping back on the bandwagon.

This highlight is finely milled, which means that its lightweight, but incredibly pigment. It’s really creamy and has a lot of shimmer, and the 8-hour time window will withstand the heat.

It’s a champagne-hued highlight that can be easily built up, which gives you the control for blinding cheekbones or a minimal shine. Either way, it’ll be a staple in my makeup bag this summer.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

CAILYN Cosmetics Pure Lust Extreme Matte Tint + Velvet in No. 32 Practicable

With the upcoming summer months, I’ve been in search for a good liquid lipstick that won’t budge and melt off. In most of my beauty subscriptions, I receive a lot of rose-y, mauve-y and nude lipsticks, which means I’ve acquired a lot of similar shades.

However, this one held up to the wearability test of eating, talking and watching Lost snuggled up on my couch. Even after roughly five hours, the color didn’t smear, though it took a minute or so to dry.

It’s a lightweight lip tint that wears like a lipstick, but didn’t leave my lips begging for moisture like most liquid lipsticks. Since nudes are in season, this might be one I opt to gravitate towards.

Save some! Use code “IPSY20GIFT” to receive 20% off any purchase plus a free WET-N-DRY MM Blender on cailyncosmetics.com

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

IT Cosmetics Superhero Elastic Stretch Volumizing Mascara in Black

When beauty subscriptions send you samples of your absolute faves, consider it a win-win.

I originally received the IT Cosmetics Superhero mascara as my birthday gift at Ulta a year ago and immediately fell in love with it. I recently threw out my sample size because it was dried out and hadn’t made it to Ulta yet to repurchase. Now, I can throw this one in my purse for those mornings I forget to put some mascara on.

While wearing this mascara, I’ve received a ton of compliments and was even asked which falsies I was wearing! I like to pair this on those days that I want to make a statement with my eyes, but don’t want to commit to false lashes.

Its wand isn’t super extravagant, but it gets the job done. It lifts each lash to stretch it out, lengthening them and giving them a fuller appearance. One coat is enough to make some definition in your lashes and more than one coat will send your lashes to high heaven. It doesn’t flake off and it stays in place, which makes it perfect for the dog days of summer coming up.

Rating: 5 out of 5

If you’re interested in joining Ipsy, use my referral code here!

About sarah

24. writer. obsessed with makeup, french bulldogs and sparkle.
This entry was posted in beauty subscriptions, makeup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ipsy unbagging: may ’17

  1. Pingback: sephora play unboxing: may ’17 | life with sarah

  2. Pingback: sephora play unboxing: september ’17 | life with sarah

Leave a Reply

