birchbox unboxing: may ’17


Low effort. High impact. 

School’s out for the summer and the beauty subscriptions are continuing to roll out with the high impact, low effort products to let us maximize our days in the sun.

It’s another month that I haven’t canceled my Birchbox, because I like to give things the benefit of the doubt. However, this month absolutely crushed it with products I didn’t know I was going to need, but immediately fell in love with and will find myself incorporating into my beauty routines.

Pass the SPF over and get out there and enjoy them rays.

Here’s what’s inside my Birchbox this month:

Tocca Esfoliante da Corpo Nourishing Body Scrub in Bianca

With summer coming up, let’s all take a vow about how important it is to exfoliate, exfoliate, exfoliate!

Exfoliating not only helps get rid of that lizard skin from when your sunburn finally turns into that bronzy glow, but it helps make your skin extra smooth for shaving. (Extra tip: always exfoliate before spray tans for an even glow!)

This one from Tocca has large sugar crystals that help slosh away that dead skin and it offers a wide variety of scents. The only gripe I have with it is that it leaves my skin feeling slightly greasy, but that could be due to product separation from sitting.

Rating: 3 out of 5

Living proof Perfect hair Day In-Shower Styler

This was the product I picked this month and the reasons behind why I picked it was a) I’ve been meaning to get my hands on Living proof products; b) I have never heard of an in-shower styler and c) I hate doing my hair because I’m the ultimate lazy girl.

It might have been the best choice I’ve made in a long, long, long time.

During the summer months, I hate putting extra heat on my hair so I opt for a lot of heatless hairstyles, which usually means scrunching it or throwing it into a high top-knot. I’m the first to admit that I don’t like styling my hair, but during the summer, I’m extra lazy and live for braids.

The concept of the in-shower styler was ingenious because you apply it right after you shampoo and condition your hair. You apply generously from roots to ends and rinse it, towel dry, scrunch it and let it air dry. That’s it, I promise! For extra wave, feel free to braid into small sections into two larger braids and secure with pins at the nape of your neck.

Following the instructions the first time, I thought it was odd that it didn’t instruct to brush the hair. The waves felt frizzy, but they pieced together nicely. I might opt to brush it afterwards and scrunch it more for more tight beachy waves.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Cartier Baiser Vole Lys Rose Eau de Toilette

I never knew that Cartier made perfumes, but every day’s a school day.

This one from Cartier is perfect for summer because it’s sweet smelling with lily petals and hints of raspberries. It’s not too overwhelming, and the scent lasts all day. It smells like something that I’ve used in the past, but I can’t quite put a finger on it.

Since buying Daisy by Marc Jacobs last month, I’m a little disappointed that I didn’t wait because I’d consider repurchasing this, however, the $90 price tag makes me apprehensive.

Rating: 3 out of 5

Supergoop! Everyday Sunscreen with Cellular Response Technology SPF 50

I will certainly be the first to admit that I’m super negligent about sun protection. As a kid, I was always fair-skinned and longed for those deep, bronzy colors everyone else got as I stayed Casper the Friendly Ghost white or Larry the Lobster red. There was no in-between.

The older I’ve gotten, the more I hear people preaching about sun protection and I’ll admit, I normally roll my eyes at the conversation. However, with a recently discovered sun freckle on my forehead, I definitely want to start becoming more proactive about skin cancer threats and step up my protection game.

If I don’t use a sunscreen, even on the most overcast day, I’ll still get a slight burn. I really like this one from Supergoop! because it’s lightweight, it doesn’t clog it with oil and it has a refreshing, minty smell.

With an SPF of 50 and a water resistant formula for 80 minutes, it’s perfect to throw in my work bag for those doubleheaders! Plus, the full size comes with a 18-fluid ounce pump bottle for $48, which seems like a lot, but if it works, it’s worth investing in.

Rating: 4 out of 5

The Beauty Crop Fabulous Flocking Lashes Mascara

Raise your hand if you’re a sucker for adorable packaging. 🙋🏻

The packaging of the waterproof mascara from The Beauty Crop is downright precious, however, the actual product is less than to be desired. It insists it is a waterproof mascara, but it immediately melted away while taking a shower!

Don’t get me wrong, it was pretty cool because I loathe removing waterproof mascara and it more or less flaked off my eyes with ease, but it still made me apprehensive to use it on those sweltering hot days. No one wants to be caught looking like a raccoon!

left is with one coat of fabulous flocking lashes waterproof mascara. right is natural lashes

The wand of this mascara reminds me a lot of a very generic mascara, almost like the iconic Maybelline Great Lashes mascara in the pink and green bottle, but it didn’t do my lashes any justice.

I felt that it clumped though it claimed to be a non-clumping formula, was very transferable to the lid and under eye area and was more of a hassle than what it was worth. With two or three coats, you might get some definition, but it’s a very thick formula that I wouldn’t want to fool around with with the summer coming up.

Rating: 2.5 out of 5

If you’re interested in signing up for Birchbox, use my referral link here!

About sarah

24. writer. obsessed with makeup, french bulldogs and sparkle.
This entry was posted in beauty subscriptions, makeup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to birchbox unboxing: may ’17

  1. Pingback: sephora play unboxing: may ’17 | life with sarah

  2. Pingback: birchbox unboxing: june ’17 | life with sarah

  3. Pingback:  ipsy unbagging: august ’17 | life with sarah

Leave a Reply

