birchbox unboxing: june ’17

Face the day 

Summer is officially here and Birchbox is getting us ready to face the day!

For the first time in forever, Birchbox actually sent me makeup products! This was the first box in my near year of subscribing that I never selected one of the curated products and let Birchbox pick the best items for me. The kid who always peeped at boxes before they got to my doorstep is really growing up…

Safe to say, they crushed it this month and maybe I’ll put my trust in their team more often!

This month’s theme is called ‘Face the Day’ and it’s a continuation from last month’s box of quick and easy products that will maximize the most of your time.

Here’s what was inside my Birchbox this month:

COOLA Mineral Face SPF 30 Rosilliance BB Cream in Light/Medium

It’s like Birchbox read my mind with my new-found appreciation to BB creams and tinted moisturizer, because they sent me another one to test out!

This one from COOLA claims to hydrate skin and add a subtle touch of color. What I love about this one is that it has a minty rose scent that’s really refreshing. Normally, I don’t love makeup products that pack a powerful fragrance, but this one is pleasant enough that it’s not overwhelming. Plus, it’s got an SPF 30 in it, so no need to worry about protection.

It gets its scent from pale dames and white and apothecary rose stem cells. You’d think it’d be very floral-y, but these bouquets are suppose to pack some serious hydration as they help boost your natural luminescent glow and make your skin look more natural.

Since it’s a BB cream, don’t expect a lot of coverage, even though the light to medium color is too light for my skin! For what it’s worth, it does blend seamlessly and it does give enough color to fix very minor imperfections.

Rating: 2.5 out of 5

Davines SU Hair & Body Wash

Normally, I stay away from two-in-ones or three-in-ones, but I can make an exception when it smells like a sunny day.

Birchbox came through again with another sample from Davines, but this time, I don’t hate this hair/body wash. In the past here and here, I thought that their shampoos and conditioners were too ‘natural smelling’ and didn’t leave me feeling clean.

SU’s super refreshing scent leaves me feeling happy and it lathers nice for both a shampoo and body wash. As a body wash, it didn’t strip my skin like some do and I felt my skin was softer after washing with a loofah. As a shampoo, it lathered nicely, though did take some extra elbow grease to wash out.

It’s hydrating and if you use it as a shampoo, it’s suppose to have elements that help protect your strands from the sun. For my upcoming trip to the Cape, it might be a good idea to save this one for my travel bag!

Rating: 4 out of 5

Manna Kadar Cosmetics Eye Candy Priming Shadow Stick in Jelly Bean

Summer should mean simplistic, and what better way to simplify your beauty routine than using an all-in-one product?

This one from Manna Kadar Cosmetics is a gorgeous shimmery taupe shade that is cool for the summer. Stand alone shimmers aren’t usually my thing, but this summer’s all about stepping outside my comfort zone!

The nice thing about application is that it has a built-in primer already equipped, so you can ditch your eyeshadow primer when applying this color on. Plus it packs insane pigment, is very comfortable to wear and doesn’t crease.

Normally, shadow sticks are not my cup of tea. I think a product that claims to offer it all is usually a flop, but this one delightfully surprised me. On those mornings that I’d rather catch some extra zzz’s, I’ve opted to swipe this over my lids as a quick pick-me-up and brightens my eyes. I’m sure if you were to put this on a smokey eye as the pop-of-color on the lid, it’d be outrageously gorgeous.

After seeing a lot of reviews on Birchbox’s website, I’m glad to know my shadow stick was broken. But at least she’s still useable!

Rating: 4 out of 5

Marcelle Hydra-C 24H Energizing Hydrating Gel

Rule of thumb: Gel moisturizers for the summer, cream moisturizers for the winter.

Lately, I’ve been switching up my skincare regime and trying to find products that will work for my uncooperative oily skin. I’ve been trying to use samples up and fell back in love with my Drunk Elephant T.L.C Framboos Glycol Night Serum. What your girl doesn’t love is the $90 price tag…. Ouch!

Marcelle is coming in clutch with a cheaper alternative for a gel moisturizer that does what it intends: moisturize our skin! This is packed with green tea, cucumber and vitamins C and E that will also help keep your skin protected against pollutants.

Gel moisturizers are perfect for the summer because they offer a cooling sensation when you apply. I love this one because the cucumber gives it even more of a refreshing feel and it absorbs nicely into my skin. It didn’t leave my skin feeling too oily either, which is an added bonus.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Mellow Cosmetics Liquid Lip Paint in New York

When I think burgundy, I definitely don’t think the start of summer…

If you watched my YouTube video down below, you’ll notice that I was shocked that Birchbox would send such a deep berry shade liquid lipstick for June. When I think dark lips, I think vamp season which runs from September to February. I try to avoid dark lips during the summer because I don’t want them to melt off.

However, I might be down for reconsideration with this one from Mellow Cosmetics.

This is an absolutely gorgeous berry color that compliments my sun kissed glow, courtesy of Florida. It’s not as daunting as it looks on, and it made my teeth look whiter than they actually are.

It has a velvety finish and didn’t leave my lips dry like most liquid lipsticks do. However, my major gripe is that it does not wear well at all. After applying, I noticed that it faded quickly during a kiss test (on the back of my hand) and wore off while eating and drinking dinner. I prefer liquid lips that will last all day with minor touch-ups needed and this one seems like it’d be a hassle.

I will add that it does leave your lips stained with a very pretty wine color, so it might be something to overlook.

Rating: 3 out of 5

If you’re interested in signing up for Birchbox, use my referral link here!

About sarah

24. writer. obsessed with makeup, french bulldogs and sparkle.
This entry was posted in beauty subscriptions, makeup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

