sephora play unboxing: june ’17

Beat the heat with these summer starters!

Let’s kickstart summer with some products that will maximize your time to soak up the sunshine.

This month’s Sephora Play offered a wide variety of products to make statements, protect and make your routine seamless. At the surface, there were a ton of products that I felt myself gravitating towards and then there were some that I had serious apprehension about. I’ll let you figure out which was which.

Here’s what’s inside my Sephora Play this month:

Tarte Cosmetics Tarteguard 20 Tinted Moisturizer in Light

It’s no secret that BB creams have become staples in my makeup collection. I’ve only talked about them since I’ve packed away the winter clothes and pulled out the summer dresses. Don’t believe me? Check it out here.

Tarte Cosmetics has become a recent favorite of mine and when I received the Tarteguard tinted moisturizer, I was stoked. Tarte has been blasting out a ton of lifestyle products and this seemed like an inclusive, must-need product for those days I want to look pieced together, but with minimal effort.

My issue, however, was that this shade is way too light for my skin. (For someone who’s normally Casper the Friendly Ghost 10 of the 12 months in a year, I never thought I’d say that!) Because it was too light for me, it was hard to give it a fair assessment. Aside from the color, its coverage was what to be expected from a tinted moisturizer and it didn’t seem to clog my skin.

Ironically enough, I recently cashed in my Sephora Beauty Insider points (which was easily up in the 1,500s!) for the Tarte Cosmetics collection that has a ton of faves… including the Tarteguard in three shades: light, light-medium and medium.

Rating: 3 out of 5

Dr. Dennis Gross Skincare Alpha Beta Glow Pad Gradual Glow

Ever earn your tiger strips from a bad self-tanner? It can really hurt a person’s confidence and that’s why I try to avoid them like the Plague.

Can’t avoid the inevitable for forever. It might be time to jump onboard the bandwagon. (My skin might thank me in the future!)

Immediately, I loved the concept that Sephora sent three samples of these self-tanner towelettes because in case you botch the first one, you have two additional chances to test them out. Though, these are pretty fool-proof and I don’t see how you could mess them up.

I’m not sure what I was thinking they’d smell like, but I’m happy to report that there’s no overwhelming fragrance with these towelettes. There’s no seeping color with them, they’re just a white towelette with the miracle product inside. I swiped it over my face, ears, neck and along the top of my chest to make sure all areas were covered in circular motions. After applying, I noticed that my skin felt tacky, but hoped for the best.

Results take up to 3-4 hours and to be honest, you will get that fake self-tanner smell about midway through. It’s not the worst smell, but it’s definitely a familiar scent.

I did this before going to bed and when I woke up in the morning, my skin didn’t develop 12 shades too dark and it really was a gradual glow. These might be perfect for those days you need a little color on your face, but don’t want to overdo it. For me, I don’t see them as practical with my current beauty routine, but could maybe find a use for them later on.

Rating: 3 out of 5

Bumble and Bumble Don’t Blow It (H)air Styler

Along with not worrying about heavy-duty foundations, your girl has been searching for hair stylers and curl creams that will combat the summer heat.

Bumble and Bumble is one of those brands that I’ve never tested out, though had good intentions of doing so. Luckily, Sephora’s always got my back.

Similar to the Tarteguard, this product was targeted for people with fine hair. My hair is thick as my thighs and I was immediately turned off by it, because I thought it would be a waste of time.

But, it wouldn’t be a fair review if I didn’t test it out, right?

I’ve tested this out in two separate ways: using only this product and pairing it with a sea salt spray after finding a tutorial from the Bumble and Bumble YouTube page. (I used the Not Your Mother’s one I got in my #RosyVoxBox here.)

With the hair styler on its own, I noticed my hair felt soft while it was drying, but quickly became very unruly. The “curls” were very tight and didn’t have a ton of definition. With the sea salt spray and the tutorial I tested out haphazardly, I noticed more of the same results: tight curls and a lot of uncertainty.

Rating: 2.5 out of 5

Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in K-Dub

When Sephora sends you a favorite, consider it a win.

The Kat Von D Everlasting lipsticks are some of my favorite liquid lipstick formulas and I’ve been dying to get my hands on her massive color launch this spring/summer. Once again, Sephora coming in clutch, especially with this vibrant violet color that everyone’s been obsessing about.

I love rocking a daring lip, but to be honest, I thought this was going to be way out of my comfort zone. Thank goodness I was wrong.

This color is insanely flattering and its bright properties actually made my teeth appear whiter. In fact, go check out my recent Instagram selfie to see for yourself!

Everlasting liquid lipsticks are long-lasting, smudge-proof and hardly budge. Touch-ups are very few and far between with this gem so go ahead and dive into those summer treats.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Briogeo Curl Charisma Rice Amino + Avocado Leave-In Defining Creme

I’ve received this curl cream in the past, but unfortunately, that was before the birth of this blog. Thankfully, we get to test it out and fall in love with it again.

However, this bad boy is going on the back burner for now because I plan on saving it for my upcoming trip to Cape Cod. It’s the perfect sample size for the five days I’ll be gone, so I’ll do a review of it in a future post!

Being that I’ve already tested this out, I can’t recall what my thoughts on it were. I’m 95% sure I loved it, had it in my cart but never actually purchased it. Why I didn’t purchase, I’ll never remember, but it gives me a second opportunity to reconsider.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Derek Lam 10 Crosby Blackout

This perfume from Derek Lam is described as a “dark, daring and romantic scent”. Why would this even be considered a summer-time fragrance?!

Derek Lam is one of my favorites, especially after falling in love with Silent St. in my first-ever Sephora Play. In fact, I actually purchased the vial fragrance set from Sephora to test out the entire 10 Crosby collection.

However, this one definitely didn’t make the cut.

Normally, I love spicy and homey smells, but the floral aspect of this scent turned me off. It’s described as a earthy and woody scent, it smells more masculine than it does feminine and I’m just not loving it for summer. Maybe if I came back to this in the fall, I’d feel differently, but I didn’t like how it combated with my natural body odor.

Rating: 2 out of 5

Remember: Sephora Play is $10/month. To sign up: visit here.

About sarah

24. writer. obsessed with makeup, french bulldogs and sparkle.
This entry was posted in beauty subscriptions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to sephora play unboxing: june ’17

  1. Pingback: sephora play unboxing: july ’17 | life with sarah

  2. Pingback: hair we go: no heat beachy waves | life with sarah

Leave a Reply

