a week’s worth of work-appropriate summer ootd’s

First impressions are everything, so make yours count. 

I’m a creature who doesn’t do well in the heat (this post will be a lot more fun in the fall/winter), but sundresses and skirts are an absolute staple in my summer wardrobe.

If I’m not in the gym or at home, I’m found in the office for work as a sports writer. For my job, it’s 80% office work and 20% on the road for game assignments. Since my newsroom is very lax, I have a lot of creative freedom to try out trends and fads and like to take the time to piece outfits that give me the best first impression. After all, you never know who you’ll end up meeting in this field!

Describing my fashion sense is easier said than done. I like to consider myself New England prep, however my paychecks won’t afford that (unless we’re talking the clearance rack at Brooks Brothers!). It’s a hodgepodge of things that are practical, flattering and most importantly, comfortable!

Here’s a breakdown of a typical week of outfits during the summer:

Monday

Monday’s already got me bluesy and sad that the weekend’s over, so why not spice them up with a bold color pant?!

Top: Black and white striped t-shirt from Old Navy (any striped t-shirt will do, since mine is an older style)

Pants: Red jeggings from New York Company (again, also old style but any color jegging will work!)

Shoes: Patent nude flats from Target

Accessories: Gold bar necklace from Charlotte Russe

Tuesday

I’ll stop wearing black when they make a darker color. However, black is tough to rock in the summer, so soften the look with a splash of blush that will turn your darkest look romantic.

Top: Long tunic from Express (this was from the winter season, so I can’t find it on their website!)

Bottoms: Black leggings from Walmart

Shawl: This one from Francesca’s (on the website, but might be different in store)

Booties: These blush chunky booties from Charlotte Russe.

Wednesday

Give ’em the cold shoulder with dainty peasant tops that are mainstays this summer. My shoulder has a ton of sun freckles from over the years so I love to flaunt these little details!

Top: Olive green bell sleeved top from Express (I picked it up at the Express Factory Outlet at my mall and finding it online was nearly impossible)

Bottoms: Khaki jeggings from Walmart (They look and feel like real khakis but without the hassle of squeezing into them. Plus, they’re under $20!)

Booties: These from Payless (They’ve been mainstays in my wardrobe because they’re hella comfortable and they make any casual outfit a little more pieced together)

Accessories: Delicate ‘hello’ necklace I picked up in an adorable boutique in downtown Hamilton.

Thursday

Get through your work-week in style with a statement piece. Bomber jackets and florals have been springing up everywhere so jump on board with these fun ideas.

Top: Red t-shirt from Express (This shirt is crossed in from, which helps slim down your figure, which is super flattering)

Jacket: Floral bomber jacket from Marshall’s (I snagged this for $10 in the beginning of the spring and completely forgot about it until doing laundry a few days ago!)

Pants: Black compression leggings from Old Navy

Flats: Black leather flats from Target

Friday

Even though I usually work Saturday mornings, take full advantage of ‘casual jean Friday’ with a fun graphic tee.

Top: Pardon My French graphic tee from Old Navy

Pants: Jeggings from Walmart (I mentioned these in my Memorial Day OOTD and these are insanely great. Since they’re a little long on me, I cuff them into capris)

Flats: Leopard flats from Target (These are my absolute favorite shoes ever. In fact, I had a stock of two to three at one point! They’re under $20 and they’re incredibly comfy, like walk miles and miles in New York City comfortable.)

What are your favorite work-appropriate summer OOTDs? Let me know in a comment!

About sarah

24. writer. obsessed with makeup, french bulldogs and sparkle.
This entry was posted in fashion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

