ipsy unbagging: july ’17

Netflix and chill with Gudetama all month long with this lazy af GlamBag.

This month is all about channelling our inner lazy girl and thanks to Ipsy, we’ve now got a new partner in crime, Gudetama. This little guy is all about lazy vibes which speaks to me on such levels.

These products are all about helping us on those morning we want to catch a few extra zzz’s. Think of these as quick and efficient products that will overhaul your morning.

Here’s what was inside my Ipsy GlamBag this month:

IBY Beauty Crease Brush

Building your brush collection can be hella expensive, so take full advantage of when beauty subscriptions send you brushes!

In the past, I always complained about getting brushes because I wanted more makeup to play with, but since trying to build my vault little by little, I realize that the brushes are the most expensive part! Now, I’ll take any brush I can get my little hands on.

This one from IBY Beauty is a tightly condensed crease brush that will make packing color so much easier. The tight tip makes building pigment a breeze and its tightly packed bristles make for focusing the color on one specific area.

I’ll probably find myself gravitating towards this for when I do some smokey eyes since I can build color upon color in the crease without it dispersing in the transition area or in the highlight zone. Its bristles are soft and the handle isn’t too long in my hand, which makes navigating easy.

Save some! Use code “IPSY0717” to receive 50% any purchase!

Rating: 4 out of 5

COUGAR Beauty Products 24 Hour Liquid Lipstick in Mulberry

Sometimes, all it takes is rocking a liquid lipstick to piece together a look. Don’t let anyone else in on your secret that it only took you two seconds to amp your glam game.

During the summer, I don’t love liquid lipsticks, or any lipstick for that matter, because in-between eating hamburgers and ice cream cones, I don’t like having to fret about my lipstick. There’s fewer things worse than getting caught with lipstick running down your chin because you took too big of a bite!

As much as I love the mulberry color and even though I love the fact that this smells like banana Laffy Taffy candy, it struck out in all three of my Liquid Lipstick Check List: It certainly didn’t pass the kiss test, it doesn’t eat or drink well and it wears off rather easily. It takes too long to dry and it doesn’t do much for my lips’ hydration.

Save some! Use code “IPSYCOUGAR” to receive 50% off the 5-piece set of 24 Hour Liquid Lipsticks!

Rating: 1.5 out of 5

Ciate London Wonderwand Gel-Kohl Hybrid Liner in Black

The biggest epitome of a lazy girl is a girl who fully rocks last night’s eye makeup. Hello smokey eye!

Luckily, Ciate London came up with a way to help us avoid makeup sin and recreate the smoked out look with this Wonderwand Gel-Kohl liner!

Pencil liners aren’t normally my gig, since I hate how they tug on your lid. However, this gel-kohl formula glided on my lid and allowed me to form a precise line tight to my lash line.

The angled brush at the other end is perfect for smoking out the wing or you can use the angled end to pull the liner to create that precise cat line. The black doesn’t go on super dark, but it can build it pigment. I thought it gave me an opportunity to test out some less dramatic liner looks that I’m kind of living for.

Save some! Use code “IPSTER” to receive 30% off site-wide!

Rating: 4 out of 5

Eau Thermale Avene Cleanance MAT Mattifying Toner

S/O to Ipsy hitting ya girl up with another product from one of her favorite skincare brands. I’ve tested Eau Thermale Avene’s micellar water in the past (which still holds as my all-time favorite!) and I’ve been meaning to get on board with French skincare….

However, Ipsy hooked me up with this mattifying toner. Real tea though is that I don’t use toners, let alone any sort of skincare routine. (You’re lucky that I wash my face most morning!) I’m very basic with my routine in that I wash my face twice a day (morning with micellar water and some sort of  cleanser at night), follow up with a moisturizer (if I think about it) and maybe a skin mask once or twice a week.

This has a light, refreshing scent that I’m not sure is intended, but hey, it works. It made my face feel tacky, which is good since it will help makeup/serum/treatments/moisturizers/etc adhere to it. It’s suppose to help with alleviating oiliness, but I can’t say that I noticed a major difference on a first-time trial.

I’ll continue to incorporate it into my routine and who knows, maybe toners are the real deal.

Save some! Use code “IPSY20” to save 20% off any Eau Thermale Avene purchase on b-glowing.com! 

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

OFRA Cosmetics Eyeshadow Single in Victory

It’s no secret that we all want to be bronzed gods and goddesses during the summer. Let me introduce you to your new staple in your eyeshadow game.

To be fair, single shades aren’t my jam, but I’m loving this one from OFRA. It’s a shimmer and a matte shade all in one (and at the same time!) and it doesn’t crease after a long time. (Though, always be sure to prime your lids, just to play it safe.)

The bronze-y, golden tones can be rocked on their own (on me, it almost looked too harsh!) or could be donned with a smokey eye, which will be my preferred way since rocking it as is was too dramatic for an every day look.

It can also be used as an eyeliner by wetting an eyeliner brush and applying the product along your lash line. Turn some heads with a metallic liner!

Save some! Use code “IPSY30” to receive 30% off your purchase at ofracosmetics.com

Rating: 3 out of 5

If you’re interested in joining Ipsy, use my referral code here!

About sarah

24. writer. obsessed with makeup, french bulldogs and sparkle.
This entry was posted in beauty subscriptions, makeup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ipsy unbagging: july ’17

  1. Pingback: sephora play unboxing: july ’17 | life with sarah

  2. Pingback: birchbox unboxing: september ’17 | life with sarah

Leave a Reply

