birchbox unboxing: july ’17

Give ’em the one-two punch with these products that kill two birds with one stone!

I *cancelled my Birchbox subscription.

*Almost. Let me explain myself.

Since I had an old credit card linked to my account, I needed to update the payment method and I thought to myself ‘What if you just didn’t update it? Maybe it’s a sign to cancel‘. I’ve been mulling the idea about cancelling Birchbox for a while now (actually since the beginning of this year) and I thought this was it. It was my out.

I just couldn’t pull the trigger and do it. I was having some serious FOMO.

I don’t hate Birchbox, I just love my other subscriptions a little bit more. When it comes down to it, I gravitate to products in my Ipsy GlamBags or my Sephora PlayBoxes more than I do my Birchboxes. I love testing out products and learning about new brands, which is why I’ll plan on keeping it for just a while longer…

This is why this month’s box is so late (aside from the fact I’ve been incredibly busy at work and a weekend traveling around New York State with Ryan had me a little preoccupied!), but better late than never, right?

Also, it’s my year anniversary of having Birchbox and I can’t leave just yet.

Here’s what’s inside my Birchbox this month:

Beautaniq Beauty Blush Serum in Sunrise

Unless a blush is very mute in color, I try to avoid it like the plague. My cheeks are already blotchy and rosy enough on their own, let’s not draw unnecessary attention to them.

Cream blushes just might actually be my nightmare personified. Especially this one.

It’s incredibly pigmented, which you’d normally never hear me complain about. However, with blushes and my utmost distaste for them, this is absolutely terrifying when you see just how tickled pink this color is. It’d be a gorgeous lip shade (which you can technically use as a lip color), but as for cheeks, I have to pass.

A little does go a long way and even though I hate the formula for personal reasons, the product itself is really fantastic. It has apricot seed oil and vitamin E so its hydrating and repairs the skin. It doesn’t feel greasy, like some serums leave my face, and it does add a nice flush of color (if you tone it down with some foundation!)

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

English Laundry Oxford Bleu Femme Eau de Parfum

Sometimes a certain scent can take you back to specific point in time, or maybe a memory, or it reminds you of a specific person. It’s truly incredible how our minds link the two together.

For whatever reason, this perfume reminds me of my mother. She’s always had this scent that was comforting and clean-smelling and I’ve always tried to obtain it, though I’ve never been fully successful. Whether it’s her natural body composition or what, it’s always been a comforting smell that reminds me of my youth and a more innocent time in my life.

I absolutely love this scent because it’s got the top notes of vanilla and musky sandalwood, but it’s not heavy like a spiced fragrance that I normally opt for. In fact, it has hints of lemon and mint to add freshness for a balance of clean and welcoming. It’s a perfect year-round scent and something that can definitely be made into a signature.

Because an Oxford Blue shirt makes a statement in itself, why not make your perfume a statement?

A little goes a long way, and the scent is long-lasting. I’ve never purchased something off of the Birchbox website, but the bonus 15% off code inside my Box this month, it might be time to change my tune.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Kiehl’s Since 1851 Rare Earth Deep Pore Daily Cleanser

One of my biggest insecurities is my skin and how my nose and chin are plagued with stubborn blackheads I can’t get rid of. I’ve tested several exfoliants, it’s a wonder how I even still have an epidermis…

Exfoliant treatments are sometimes too harsh for everyday use, even though it doesn’t budge the built-up dirt in my pores. However, this cleanser from skincare gurus Kiehl’s has me feeling more confident in my skin.

It has a similar color and texture to the GLAMGLOW FLASHMUD mask treatment, which is a higher concentrate of this daily cleanser. Instead of leaving it on as a mask, wet your face and lather up the cleanser, using circular motions to slosh away dead skin. I focus the lather on my problem areas, like my nose and chin, really working it into my skin.

Exfoliants are notorious for leaving your skin thirsty, but this one doesn’t strip the skin. thanks to its exotic Brazilian clay that nourish the skin. My skin felt softer and it brought blackheads to the surface for extraction.

Fair warning, even though this stuff is pretty remarkable, its smell is less than to be desired. Thankfully, it’s not a mask and it’s only a few seconds of lathering.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Marcelle 3-in-1 Micellar Gel Makeup Remover

Sorry Ryan, but my real true love is micellar water.

I am obsessed with micellar water simply because of how much they’ve impacted my life. Instead of taking the time to wash my face, I can shave five minutes of my morning routine by saturating a cotton pad and wiping it over my face. It’s peace of mind and it’s highly effective.

Even though I start my day with micellar water, I don’t normally close my day with it. Until this beauty from Marcelle came into my life. This is a 3-in-1 eye makeup remover that helps sooth the skin and reduces puffiness around the eyes. It’s oil-free, alcohol-free and paraben-free, which is reassuring if you’re putting this near your eyes.

All you have to do is take a cotton pad, apply a small amount of the gel to it and hold it over the eye and wipe it away. Feel free to use it to remove other makeup on your face because it’ll pick up all of it, even that stubborn waterproof mascara.

At first, I hated it because I felt that there wasn’t enough product on my cotton pad and it left my eyes feeling tacky. However, I love the oil-free feel to it and the gel was slightly cooling on tired eyes.

This might be staying put on my vanity for those quick fixes when the mascara goes rouge.

Rating: 4 out of 5

R + Co BADLANDS Dry Shampoo Paste

I think that 90% of my existence is dry shampoo.

For someone who hates washing their hair (there’s a lot of it!), I like to extend the life between my washes and push it to a few days. Sometimes its a day in-between, sometimes its four. It’s all about balance.

R + Co put out this interesting dry shampoo paste, which is something I’ve never heard of. Since it’s a paste, it also works as a texturizer. Take a small amount and rub between your fingers and work it through your tresses.

Working it through the root, I noticed that my hair was more volumized. In terms of it picking up excess oil, it seemed to get the job done.

Rating: 3.5 out 5

If you’re interested in signing up for Birchbox, use my referral link here!

About sarah

24. writer. obsessed with makeup, french bulldogs and sparkle.
This entry was posted in beauty subscriptions, makeup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to birchbox unboxing: july ’17

  1. Pingback: birchbox unboxing: august ’17 | life with sarah

Leave a Reply

