birchbox unboxing: august ’17

Easy does it with these effortless products!

Summer is almost over, but that doesn’t mean we still can’t have some last minute fun in the sun!

This month’s Birchbox has a bunch of products that will take a few moments to apply, but last all day, making it effortless. These are meant to recharge you and leave you feeling refreshed.

Last month, I mentioned that I thought about canceling my subscription. I’m glad that I didn’t because this one is actually a pretty good one!

Here’s what’s inside my Birchbox this month:

Acure Organics Day Cream

My skin has been acting out lately and for once, my skin doesn’t need constant moisture like it usually does.

A day cream is something that’s good to build your skincare routine around and finding a good one that isn’t too heavy can be a challenge. This one from Acure Organics offers all-day nourishment and its gotu kola stem cells help protect against environmental and radical damage.

The scent of this cream is unique because it has a citrus base with pepper notes. It left my skin feeling tacky, which makes applying makeup better because it has something to adhere to. It didn’t leave me too oily, but I didn’t fall head over heels for it.

Rating: 2.5 out of 5

GLAMGLOW THIRSTYMUD Hydrating Treatment

This was the first product I ever used from GLAMGLOW before becoming a fanatic two years ago, so the second I saw this was a curated choice this month, I quickly jumped on the offer!

As I’ve mentioned in the past with GLAMGLOW products, its fragrance is unreal. The scent of this hydrating treatment smells like you’re being swept away to a tropical location. Its coconut essence delivers some serious moisture and can be used as a full mask, a spot treatment or as an overnight treatment.

One of my skin problems (usually) is that my skin gets very dry and it makes no difference which season. This was a saving grace to my skin because it can be used 2-3 times a week and I used it as a spot treatment when needed. Since my skin has been defying me and lashing out, I have to keep this stockpiled for now, since my skin has been very oily as of late.

However, I noticed that there was a major gash on the package and that the product was oozing out. I contacted Birchbox customer service and I’m waiting to see if I can get another sample.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Benefit Cosmetics Gimme Brow Volumizing Fiber Gel in No.3 

The seasons may come and go, but how I’ve done my brows for the past four years has been the same. If it hasn’t been the Anastasia Beverly Hills brow pomade, the INSPR duo color brow powder of a simple brow gel, I haven’t fussed with it.

Why change up a routine that works well? Because I haven’t used this game-changing brow product, that’s why.

I’m already a diehard user of Benefit, whether it being its cult-favorite Dandelion Blush or the Ready, Set Brow! clear brow gel. When I saw this inside my box, I was hyped because I had actually recommended it to friends. (Nothing like a blind recommendation, Sarah!)

Thankfully, this product was everything I could have asked for and I stand behind my recommendations. Its narrow applicator allows you to groom the tight arches of your brows with ease and the color payoff isn’t too drastic for an every day look.

I especially love how it has just enough gel that it doesn’t leave the brows stiff, but its strong enough to not let the color smear or fade. It withstood a intense leg day at the gym and my brows didn’t budge. Once I get these caterpillars waxed, I’m really excited to use this on a consistent basis.

Rating: 5 out of 5

Oribe Gold Lust Dry Shampoo

This is the second time I’ve received a product from Oribe, but the last time I received something, it was nearly a year ago and it wasn’t my exact favorite wave spray. I couldn’t buy into the hype of a boujee-ass hair company.

This is suppose to be a luxe dry shampoo that doesn’t leave your hair feeling gritty or textured, like most dry shampoos do. Maybe it’s just me, but I feel like the more texture and grit your dry shampoo has, the cleaner the hair will look and feel on day three or four hair… (what can I say, I hate shampooing my hair 😇.)

However, this dry shampoo could become one of my favorites, but its $44 price tag makes me skeptical. The bottle has a strong spritz, which uses a lot of product and at that price tag, I’d be upset paying that much to waste it.

My hair felt refreshed and lighter than other dry shampoos I’ve used. It doesn’t have too strong of a fragrance, though I wish it did.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Marcelle City Multi-Protection Tinted Cream SPF 25

I might preach about how much I love BB creams and tinted moisturizers, however, this one left me a little disappointed.

This tinted cream is suppose to protect your complexion against pollution and UV rays while priming and moisturizing. For someone who would opt for not wearing foundation all together, this just seemed like an unnecessary step.

Since I don’t live in a major city and don’t spend a ton of time outside for my job, this just doesn’t seem like a product I’d gravitate towards daily.

Rating: 2 out of 5

If you’re interested in signing up for Birchbox, use my referral link here!

About sarah

24. writer. obsessed with makeup, french bulldogs and sparkle.
This entry was posted in beauty subscriptions, makeup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to birchbox unboxing: august ’17

  1. Pingback: sephora play unboxing: september ’17 | life with sarah

Leave a Reply

